About | Mission | Our Beginnings | Board of Trustees | List of Board Presidents

Northport Historical Society is a Museum, Shop and Research Library located in the heart of Northport.

The Museum is situated in a historic building on Main Street, adjacent to the newly constructed Northport Hotel, and showcases a year-round Permanent Exhibit that narrates the history of Northport, along with temporary Exhibits.

The Society is passionate about reaching out to the public with inspiring programs that deliver new perspectives on local history. We offer fun and educational events for all ages, including our Annual Pub Nite, Prohibition Pub Crawls, The Society Lecture Series, Winter FUNderland Craft Day, The Annual Garden Tour, The Society Book Club and Sip & Paint Nites.

Museum & Shop Open: Wednesday - Sunday, 1pm - 4:30pm

There is no fee to enter, however, a $5 donation is suggested.

Our Mission

The mission of the Northport Historical Society is to preserve and promote the heritage of Northport, East Northport, Asharoken, Crab Meadow, Fort Salonga and Eaton's Neck. We are entrusted with discovering, collecting, and interpreting the historic objects, documents, photographs, and other material that will continue to inform our lives and bring pride to our posterity.

We maintain a museum and research library in a landmark building where artifacts associated with the area's history are curated and displayed. We seek to illuminate our legacy through educational programs, exhibits and social activities. We work with others to maintain the character of the Northport area through supporting efforts to preserve historic structures and spaces.

Our Beginnings

The Northport Historical Society formed around a group of residents intrigued by the village’s rich and colorful, but little-known past. They became increasingly concerned that important elements of the community’s heritage were being lost and that insufficient regard was being given to the impact of those losses. In particular, it was the number of Northport’s older homes falling prey to the “wrecker’s ball” that galvanized Marilyn Campbell and her circle of friends to subsequently found the Northport Historical Society in 1962.

Board Of Trustees

President: Carolyn Hyatt-Basche
Vice President: Alan Vitters
Treasurer: Karen Filiberto
Secretary: Suzanne McGuire

George Abbale

Gregg Fenton

Carla Jennings

Steven King

Jim Munson

Joseph Schmitz

Dennis Tannenbaum

In Memoriam: Philip Ingerman

Trustee Emeritus: Arlene Handel
Trustee Emeritus: Theodore Kaplan


  • Executive Director: Teresa Reid                                   [email protected]
  • Office Coordinator: Adele Montecalvo                         [email protected]
  • Museum Curator: Elizabeth Abrahams Riordan          [email protected]
  • Lead Volunteer: Helga Donohue, Weekend Docent Coordinator

Board Presidents: 1962 - Present

  • Marilyn Campbell, 1963-1964
  • Cynthia Hendrie, 1965-1967
  • Grace Taylor, 1968-1970
  • Sherry Bialla, 1971
  • Howard Knowles, 1972
  • Richard Simpson, 1973
  • Henrietta Van Sicklen, 1974
  • Peggy Mudge, 1975-1977
  • Jack Campbell, 1978-1979
  • Lois O'Hara, 1980-1981
  • Rowley Bialla, 1982-1983
  • Frank Purstell, 1984-1985
  • Otto Hess, 1986-1988
  • Joy Newton, 1989-1993
  • H. Harris Murray, 1994-1997
  • Michael Newton, 1998-1999
  • Kathleen Ehresman, 2000-2001
  • Kay Soto, 2002-2004
  • Gloria Sandler, 2005
  • Lois O'Hara, 2006-2011
  • Steven King, 2012-2016
  • Theodore Kaplan, 2017-2021
  • Suzanne McGuire, 2022-2023
  • Carolyn Hyatt-Basche & Debra Newton, 2023-2024
  • Carolyn Hyatt-Basche - Current

We Proudly Serve the Communities of:

Northport | East Northport | Fort Salonga | Asharoken | Eaton's Neck | Crab Meadow

To view the Historical Society's 2022 IRS Form 990 click here.

The Photo Collection

Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan